Paris Explorations

The apartment that I’m staying in is only a few blocks for a great Gluten Free bakery named Chamballand, so it was off to there for a breakfast of jam and bread.  Then the useful 96 bus to Belleville, where I planed to climb the park.  It’s one of the highest points in Paris.  Unfortunately on summiting, everything was cloudy and nothing to see, will have to try again another time.  As I headed to the nearest metro stop, I came across a cafe called Le Mistral which I had just read about in Anne Mah’s book “Mastering the Art of French Eating.”  Had a cup of coffee and enjoyed watching the regulars interact.  Then it was off to Place de la Bastille and the Marche d’Aligre, a great open market that happens on Wednesdays.  After stopping in the post office to mail my pocket knife home, 4.80 including padded envelope, headed to St. Germain to try Huitres Regis again.  Last time was a huge disappointment as they dropped the ball on several counts.  This time was much better with delicious oysters and a nice Sancerre to pair with them.  Then a quick Crepe elsewhere and off to the Rodin museum.  I like the gardens there the most but they neglected to mention that they had them blocked and tented for some reason, so that was a bust.  After a quick metro ride and walk around Rue de Montorgueil, one of Paris’ great pedestrian streets, it was back home to regroup.